Simple Google Adwords Tips That Will Make You More Money

Simple Google Adwords Tips That Will Make You More Money

When doing business, it is important that the brand is known and trusted. One of the most effective ways to create a trusted brand is with Google PPC. If you are ready to allocate a budget for advertising, choose the right place. We recommend choosing Google Adwords.

What Is Google Adwords

Google Adwords is a powerful channel for generating leads and sales. The platform helps to set up Google PPC. This ad model stands out because you are charged for clicks on the ad, not impressions. If there are no clicks, the money is not withdrawn from the account and the advertising budget remains intact. This sounds like a good deal, right?

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Advertising for Google is the most profitable source of income, so the company makes sure that the platform functions correctly.

Google Ads is an effective tool because it knows everything about its consumers. When users enter a search, Google remembers it. This forms keywords that users report themselves.

Google Adwords is also good because it allows you to cheat. Instead of spending months on SEO, you can climb to the top of the SERPs in an hour and outflank big competitors.

How to Use Google Ads

Google Ads is easy. The platform guides you through the necessary points and gives advice. Google has adopted a complex tool that everyone can understand. Difficulties can arise at the stage of actions that are hidden in the platform. There are different courses on setting up Google Ads for a reason. Each novice advertiser thinks about how they can get certified by Google Adwords.

If you decide to promote through Google PPC, you are already familiar with Google Analytics. Read the article – Guide to Google Analytics. For effective tracking and analytics, combine your Google Analytics and Google Ads accounts. This will help view the information in one place.

Add UTM codes at the campaign level to track activities associated with a specific link. If you are launching a large campaign, UTM will help you understand which ads led to a conversion. Integrate Google Ads with CRM. This will obviate the need to use multiple tools to store data.

13 Tips for Working With Google Adwords

1. Analyze your competitors

To reduce the risk of miscalculating the Google Adwords advertising campaign, analyze your competitors. They are already using Google Advertising and have analyzed and optimized their campaigns. This means you can use someone else’s experience to figure out which keywords, landing pages, and ads are performing in a niche. Read the article – SEO Competitive Analysis.

To find out this information, try using SEMrush.


The tool will show you who is bidding similar to you and what ads your competitors are running.


Another great tool is KeywordSpy. The platform collects all information about the past advertising campaigns of competitors.


Sign up to use the tool. Enter the domain of the competitor you want to analyze in the search bar labeled Domains. After the page loads, go to the PPC Keywords tab. The platform will show which keywords the competitor is advertising for. After analyzing their activities, you can export keywords and add them to your Google Ads account. The platform also allows you to view the ad that a competitor was promoting. To do this, go to the Ads tab.

2. Create a strong USP

Without a good USP, advertising on Google will never stand out from the competition. A unique selling proposition helps potential customers understand why your brand is better than the rest.

If you add a strong USP to your Google ads, your ad will generate more clicks from potential customers. This action can increase sales because it makes the advantage of the proposal clear.

To create a unique offer, study the ads of competitors and their sites. Analyze how you can stand out from the general background.

3. Make your landing page relevant

An important detail that is often overlooked when setting up Google Adwords is the landing page. Advertising helps bring a potential buyer to the landing page. That’s only half the battle. It is the landing page that turns the lead into a customer.

You need to maintain consistency between the keywords used on landing pages and in ads. The landing page visitor should see what the ad is talking about. Uncover the essence of your ad message on your landing page. The user who clicks on the ad is already interested in the offer. Duplicate it on your landing page. Review the main points and call to action again. Without a well-designed and well-structured landing page, even the perfect ad won’t help drive sales.

Don’t make the mistake that aspiring advertisers often make: don’t transfer the user from the ad to the site’s home page.

The home page will tell the person everything: what kind of company you are, what your business is, what services you provide, what you sell, and whom you serve. However, the home page will not tell you about the USP that you put into the advertising campaign. To do this, be sure to create a separate landing page that will work for the purpose of the ad.

Here are some tips on how to improve your landing page:

  • Title

The headline is the first thing you pay attention to. It should be catchy. Imagine yourself in the shoes of a potential client: What headline can sell you?

  • Design

Don’t make the page pretentious and heavy. It will take a long time to load. It can also be too difficult to understand. In both cases, you will lose potential customers. Simplicity and minimalism are the main assistants in creating landing pages.

  • Text

Don’t use complex technical terms. Write in such a way that any visitor to the page without specialized education will understand you.

  • Images

Use pictures. Landing page visuals are good if they are of high quality and fit within the meaning. Pictures should help the user make a purchase decision.

4. Calculate your maximum CPC

To avoid investing in a failed campaign, you need to calculate your maximum CPC. Use the formula: Max. CPC = (Profit Per Client) x (1 – Profit Margin) x (Website Conversion Rate)

The data for this formula must be analyzed or assumed. Track the necessary information so that you do not have to guess how successful an advertising campaign will be for a brand.

Once you’ve calculated the maximum CPC for the keywords you want, compare it to your available budget. This will make it clear whether the advertising campaign will go negative.

Let’s say you get an average of $400 per customer. For every 500 website visitors, 15 people become clients. The conversion is 3%. Let’s say you are satisfied with getting a 25% profit from advertising. Given this data, the formula for calculating the maximum CPC will look like this:

Max. CPC = $400 x (1–0.25) x 3% = $9.

It is important to consider that the maximum CPC should not be very different from the estimated CPC, which will be shown by the Google Keyword Tool.

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5. Use the correct keyword match types

There are several ways to show Google the keywords that match your product. To do this, use the correct keyword match types.

There are three of them:

  • Wide
  • Phrasal
  • Exact

The wide type matches searches for any keywords in no particular order. Google will serve ads for any search phrase it deems relevant to the keywords.

The Phrase Matching Modifier only shows ads when the user types in the full exact phrase. Searches like this should contain all keywords in the selected order.

The exact match modifier is similar to the phrase match modifier. Ads will appear when a user enters an exact search. It’s worth noting that Google has made it a bit easier to work with keywords. The search engine will serve ads for misspelled and pluralized searches.

Note that Google Ads sets a broad match by default. Many beginning advertisers may not even notice how their advertising campaign has gone down the wrong path and not understand where the advertising funds are going.

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If your goal is high impressions, you should use the broad match modifier. It will help achieve a low CPC. There is a risk of falling into a funnel of irrelevant requests that won’t justify this cost.

An exact match modifier will not bring many impressions to your ad and will be more expensive. At the same time, the match will have high relevance and click-through rate.

6. Change your keyword match type occasionally

Try starting a new Google Adwords campaign with multiple ad groups. Combine them with strong topics and similar keywords.

You can start with the broad key match modifier. This will help you understand when a search engine is showing ads without losing control over collecting consumer data.

Over time, it will become clear where users’ attention is actually directed. Once you’ve gathered enough data, start combining broad, phrasal, and exact matches. That way you can add the best keyword combinations to the exact and phrasal match types and continue to gather information using broad match. The Google Adwords advertising campaign will not go into stagnation.

7. Optimize negative keywords

To customize your ads on Google, be sure to use the Google Ads negative keyword tool. This powerful platform will help you eliminate words that don’t match your product or service.

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It’s okay if you don’t add every possible negative keyword on the first day of your Google Adwords campaign. As it progresses, it will become clear which searches do not fit.

You can protect yourself from this by applying them to one of three types of the match:

  • Broad: Words anywhere in the search term.
  • Phrasal: words in order anywhere in the search query.
  • Exact: the exact search term.

Google Adwords tip:

To make things easier for yourself, start creating lists with negative keywords. This will accumulate information for future advertising campaigns.

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8. Complete all available ad content

If you’re aiming for effective Google PPC ads, complete all ad content fields. This will tell the story of the product and service, increasing the awareness of users who see ads in the SERP.

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When launching a Google Adwords advertising campaign, do not lose sight of:

  • Final URL
  • Heading 1

These are the most important elements of your advertising message. In the field, add the brand name, USP, keyword topic. The headline is an opportunity to attract the attention of a potential buyer. It is important to fill in the field as efficiently as possible.

Use emotional triggers to create a strong headline. Imagine yourself as a journalist whose task is to hook the audience with one headline. Add FOMO elements and maybe a little humor.

With one high-quality headline, you can increase your CTR, which will increase your conversion rates, impressions, and lower your CPC. More information in the article – What Is a CTR. Why Is Click-Through-Rate Important?

  • Heading 2

In this field, write your supporting value proposition.

  • Heading 3

Use heading field 3 for the CTA.

  • Description of lines 1 and 2

Write down how the product or service solves the problems of the target audience. Do not add general text, it won’t have an effect. Make the text relevant to the user’s searches and concerns.

In 2018, for Google ads, the search engine added the ability to create responsive ads – RSA. This feature creates up to 40 thousand ad combinations. Provide Google with a list of text suggestions for 15 headings and 4 descriptions. Then the search engine will test and combine them in search of the best result.

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Your task is to write such titles and descriptions so that the platform can combine them, and the meaning is not lost.

9. Use all relevant ad extensions

Headings, descriptions, and paths are the basic components of an advertisement. Another important part of setting up Google PPC is ad extensions. This is something you can forget about during the ad setup process. The extension’s functionality can significantly improve the effectiveness of your Google Adwords campaign.

You can choose which extensions to use. Here are the most popular ones:

  • Structured descriptions

The extension helps add more information about the features you offer.

  • Location Expansion

Link your Google My Business and your Google Adwords accounts. This will allow information about the corporate address and phone number to be included in the ads.

  • Phone extensions

This extension adds the desired phone numbers to your ad.

  • Additional links

The extension helps to include site links that open the landing pages of the site. Links like this can have a positive impact on the effectiveness of your ad campaign and attract more potential customers to your site.

10. Adjust your geo-targeting bids

Analyze where the traffic is coming from, so you can adjust the Google Adwords campaign to the geo-target audience. By distributing your advertising budget to specific geographic areas, you will benefit regardless of niche and industry.

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If you are used to thinking that product sales do not depend on where customers are located, you might want to rethink your approach. Analyze your audience for seasonality and needs. Optimize your Google PPC for the data you receive.

Let’s say you’re selling winter entertainment products. There is no point in advertising in warm climates. The product will not receive demand. When setting up new ads on Google, analyze how the product meets the needs of the audience to which you are launching the campaign.

Blocking ads in specific regions will help increase conversions and save your ad budget. For example, large cities like New York are expensive to advertise, generate low conversions, and quickly deplete your ad budget. You may get better results if you focus on smaller cities.

11. Track conversions

Without tracking conversions, you cannot analyze the performance of an advertising campaign.

To collect targeted action data, you need to insert a snippet of code provided by the Google Ads platform into the page’s HTML code.

To find this code, go to the Conversions section of the Tools and Settings.

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Select the type of conversion you want to track, click on it, and enter all the recommended data.

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Decide how you want to install the tag and get the code to add from the platform.

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Now you don’t miss a single targeted action.

12. Increase your mobile budget

The fast pace of life has made it easier and faster for people to search for information from their smartphones rather than from a desktop or laptop. Ad distribution is an easy way to attract customers from all devices.

It’s time to launch campaigns that target mobile devices. You can run an ad for both mobile and PC users. After collecting statistics, it will become clear where more traffic comes from and how to allocate the budget more efficiently. Look at device conversions in your Google Ads account.

Smartphones bring in more clicks. Increase your bids or create a separate campaign excluding computers. Use an extension that adds a phone number to your ad so users can call directly.

13. Optimize constantly

Take your time to rejoice when Google approves your ad campaign. There is a lot of work ahead.

At the start, ads may not be profitable. In order for them to start working and to justify the investment, they need to constantly optimize the processes.

To improve the performance of your ads on Google, remember to optimize:

  • CTR

To optimize CTR, test different combinations of ad titles and content or several different ads to see which one works best.

  • Landing page conversion rate

Create multiple versions of your landing page and test which one works best. Use Google Analytics.

  • Keyword Bids

Keep an eye on the relevance of your keywords. If the keyword is not profitable, reconsider its use, or it is better to disable it altogether. It’s worth raising your bids when you see that a word is generating clicks and sales.

Track ad rankings in the SERP. If your ad consistently takes the first position, try to gradually reduce the budget in order to reduce the cost of a lead and at the same time not lose the TOP-1.

If ads occupy positions 3-4 all the time, it is worth starting to increase bids on keywords in order to get to the TOP and earn more clicks.

Google is the most popular search engine in the world. More than 5 billion searches are made every day and hundreds of thousands are from Google ads. If you don’t have a Google Ads account yet, competitors are already using it. This means they are ahead and get three times more from every dollar they spend on Google ads. By sticking to these Google tips, you will start earning even more.

About author
Viktoria is a content marketing specialist and a full-time writer for SeoQuake blog.